They Poured Fire On Us From the Sky ~ Reading Response #2

“When I reached the clearing, I gazed in shock at the roofless mud walls. What happened to Achol’s house? I went closer, hoping Achol would come out to greet me like she did every morning. But when I looked through the doorway I saw the worst thing I had ever seen. Bodies lay on the floor, shrouded in ashes. Burned alive in their house. These were my lovely friends. Achol was my best friend ever. I loved her so much. My eyes were fixed on the sight of death in front of me. I could not live with it.

     I couldn’t understand why people were killing us. Did Achol deserve to die? What wrong had we done to these people? Oh, Ma, why the killing?” (Alepho 53-54)

          After reading this passage from They Poured Fire on Us From the Sky, I was horrified that Alepho had lost one of his best friends. After reading this I had to go back and re-read it just to make sure I didn’t miss anything. I put myself in his shoes and saw what he saw for a moment of his life. I would probably ask myself the same questions he asks. I would ask what we had ever done to them and why are we being attacked. This one moment in Alepho’s life must have been one of the many things that changed his view on people.

Leave a Reply

