They Poured Fire On Us From the Sky ~ Reading Response #1

“After harvest time, we sat in the dry field and dug with our feet in the soil for peanuts to play ketket, my favorite game. We pretended those nuts were our cattle and the boy who had the most nuts was the most powerful that day. It was important to me to win that game, but back then the small things defeated me easily. If I lost a silly game or even if food preperation took too long, I would pout in the corner, still as an empty pot.” (Benson 4-5)

          This passage from They Poured Fire on Us From the Sky reminded me of when I was little. When I was little, I believed that small things like losing a game meant it was the end of the world. I thought that these things were the most important in my life when they were probably the least important. However, importance is based on opinion most of the time. Also, whenever I was outside playing I would use small objects similar to peanuts and play with them. This reminded me of watching kids play pretend and stay entertained without needing complex things like video games. From this passage, I mainly learned that people don’t really need things like video games, phones, computers, or even televisions because people can survive and stay entertained with just simple objects. Another form of entertainment more common is dancing which doesn’t really require any technological equipment. Many people around the globe can’t afford video games or computers and they live entertained and happy.

Leave a Reply

